Skip to main content

Local Attractions

Things to do in Bissau

Built on a low-lying estuary where the Gêba River flows into the Atlantic, apart from the hectic traffic, Bissau is a low-key, unassuming capital. Discover the best local attractions in Guinea Bissau. 

Grande Mesquita de Bissau

The largest mosque in Bissau.

Read more

Presidential Palace

The newly renovated presidential palace dominates Praça dos Heróis Nacionais at the northern end of Avenu Amílcar Cabral. Damaged during the civil war, its graceful, neoclassical facade now incorporates modern

Read more

Pidjiguiti Monument

Three separate monuments to martyrs of the 1959 Pidjiguit Massacre when striking dockworkers were killed by the colonial police force. August 3rd, the day of the event, is a national holiday. There's also a bust of Amílcar Cabral in the square.

Read more

Fortaleza d'Amura

Surrounded by imposing, if decomposing stone walls, this fort, originally built in 1753, is the headquarters of the Guinean military and off-limits to visitors. After dark, exercise caution when walking past the fort, which is off the southern end of Av Pansau Na Isna, and the area close to the port.

Read more

Passer au contenu principal

Attractions locales

Que faire à Bissau

Construite sur un estuaire bas où la rivière Gêba se jette dans l'Atlantique, en dehors du trafic intense, Bissau est une capitale discrète et sans prétention. Découvrez les meilleures attractions locales de Guinée Bissau.

Grande Mosquée de Bissau

La plus grande mosquée de Bissau.

En savoir plus

Palais Présidentiel

Le palais présidentiel récemment rénové domine la Praça dos Heróis Nacionais à l'extrémité nord d'Avenu Amílcar Cabral. Endommagé pendant la guerre civile, sa façade gracieuse et néoclassique intègre désormais le moderne

En savoir plus

Monument Pidjiguiti

Trois monuments distincts aux martyrs du massacre de Pidjiguit en 1959 lorsque des dockers en grève ont été tués par la police coloniale. Le 3 août, jour de l'événement, est une fête nationale. Il y a aussi un buste d'Amílcar Cabral sur la place.

En savoir plus

Fortaleza d'Amura

Entouré d'imposants murs de pierre, ce fort, construit à l'origine en 1753, est le quartier général de l'armée guinéenne et est interdit aux visiteurs. Une fois la nuit tombée, soyez prudent lorsque vous passez devant le fort, qui se trouve l'extrémité sud de l'Av Pansau Na Isna et la zone proche du port.

En savoir plus